Brett Myers
ESL teacher

Native language: English, Australian
Other Languages: Japanese (Basic to intermediate fluency)
Currently living in: Australia

  Let me tell you about myself.

March – June, 2001 Macquarie University SydneyPost Graduate Certificate in TESOL§ LANGUAGE TEACHING§ SOCIO CULTURAL STUDIES§ LINGUISTICSJanuary 2002 – July 2003 University of Technology SydneyPost Graduate Diploma in Languages in TESOL (1st year)

March 2001 to December 2001 and from August 2005 Talk Mates English tutoring Sydney ENGLISH TUTOR§ Talk mates is a one to one English tutoring service for Japanese expatriates in Sydney. This position involved private tutoring in student’s homes, where lessons were tailored to the student’s goals. This position, like the volunteer work listed, helped to consolidate the knowledge learned in the TESOL course through lesson planning, teaching the four macro-skills and conducting a lesson.

January and February 2002 Future English School Dalian, ChinaENGLISH CONVERSATION TEACHER§
In January and February of 2002 I worked at the Future English School in Dalian, China as part of their winter intensive program for primary and high school students. With the focus being on speaking and listening, the purpose of the program was to help students to begin acquiring active conversation skills to build on the written English skills that they had studied in school.

March to June 2002 A.G Mate academy Sydney, AustraliaESL TEACHER· After returning from China in 2002 I worked for 3 months at a private government accredited English school in Sydney. Unlike the holiday program in China, this ESL position involved teaching backpackers who had come to Sydney for a variety of reasons. Students ranged from backpackers looking at improving their English for travel around Australia. Other students were in Sydney to prepare for the English exams necessary to enter tertiary study, or professional employment in Australia. The school followed a structured curriculum, which followed the curriculum set for TESOL education in New South Wales. Like the curriculum in China students were taught the four-macro skills, within a framework of communicative language teaching.

July 2002 to August 2004· From July onwards I pursued further University study in ESL at the University of Technology (see: Education). After finishing ESL study I pursued further work in other areas, as well as taking time out to recover from personal illness in 2003.

August 2004 Smith Family, Personal Tutor program·In Aug 2004 I returned to ESL teaching on a voluntary basis teaching English to migrants on a one on one basis who came into contact with the Smith Family service. Again like work with the TALKMATES this position involved teaching survival English and English necessary to start life in the Australian community, as well as helping participants with other aspects of Australian life.

From March 2001 Manly Warringah Literacy NetworkWith the Manly Literacy Network, I have trained in basic Adult Literacy teaching to support members of the community who have difficulties with literacy and arithmetic. These clients are adult migrants, who need a little more literacy tutoring apart from their ESL classes, and English-speaking adults that are trying to learn literacy skills, which they never learned at school.

From March 2001 JEIC Education Centre, SydneyOn a volunteer basis, I have spent the last twelve months providing an informal English conversation session for clients at the JEIC office in York St, Sydney. This has been a great opportunity to apply some of the skills learnt in my TESOL course.

November 2001 Baulkham Hills TAFE, SydneyAs part of the post-graduate certificate in TESOL at Macquarie University, Sydney, I spent my teaching internship at Baulkham Hills TAFE. During November of last year I prepared and conducted lessons for students studying the level 4 certificate in English as a second language. My final assessment for this internship resulted in the awarding of a distinction for my teaching at the college.

Available for employment.

  • Full-time, Part-time, Contract
  • Location: I'm interested in working in the U.S, Canada, Japan, Europe (Germany), South America (Brazil, Peru, Chile, Argentina), China and North and South Korea.
  • ESL Job Interests: I enjoy teaching spoken English to Adults in class and one to one.
Please contact me for more information.